«OPIOSTOP is more than
just a withdrawal procedure»

Dr Patricia Manndorff

WHAT IS OPIOSTOP?

OPIOSTOP is a safe withdrawal procedure for opiate dependents. The procedure is suitable regardless of whether the patient's dependency is the result of substance abuse (drug patients) or prescription drugs for chronic pain (pain patients).

 

Accelerated withdrawal procedure

The OPIOSTOP procedure is based on the ANR procedure (Accelerated Neuroregulation), which was further refined by Dr P. Manndorff. Based on the individual patient's needs, the procedure consists of the administration of drugs to block the brain's opioid receptors. This accelerated blocking triggers an acute, very severe withdrawal. In contrast to conventional withdrawal procedures, the accelerated blockade massively reduces the duration of the withdrawal from around 1-2 weeks to 5-6 hours.

 

Anaesthesia enables shortened withdrawal period

The body suffers all the withdrawal symptoms – pain, cramps, restlessness, stress – during this shortened withdrawal period. To keep the degree of physical discomfort to a minimum and to ensure a high level of safety, the treatment is carried out under general anaesthesia in an intensive care setting. As a result, the majority of the withdrawal symptoms are not consciously experienced.

 

More than a withdrawal procedure

The OPIOSTOP procedure aims to achieve an individualised partial blockade of the highly regulated receptors and reactivate the natural opioid system with endorphins. This allows the patient to again feel the positive effects of their own endorphins again so that the craving, the insatiable desire for the drug, disappears. OPIOSTOP is therefore more than just a withdrawal procedure. In addition to the actual withdrawal, the method involves the resetting of the nervous system, which has been altered by the opiate dependency.  

ONE-TO-ONE CARE DURING

THE WITHDRAWAL

The treatment is performed in the intensive care setting of the Interlaken Hospital, which forms part of Hospitals fmi AG. Each withdrawal using the OPIOSTOP procedure is personally carried out and supervised by Dr Patricia Manndorff an her team. During their entire time in the intensive care unit, patients receive one-to-one care by Dr P. Manndorff and the intensive care or anaesthesia specialists. After being transferred back to the general ward, patients are monitored by a staff member sitting at their bedside during the night. Read more about the treatment process.

WHAT HAPPENS AFTER THE WITHDRAWAL?

The shortened withdrawal procedure at Interlaken Hospital forms the first part of the treatment. Follow-up treatment with naltrexone is equally crucial to its success.

Follow-up treatment with naltrexone

After their withdrawal, patients must take Naltrexone in tablet form as a follow-up treatment to maintain the receptor blockade. The dosage and duration of the naltrexone treatment depends on the individual, but usually ranges from 25 to 50 mg/day for a period of 12 to 18 months. It is not possible to discontinue naltrexone for a short period of time, take opioids and then resume taking naltrexone. Patients' full cooperation is essential to the treatment's success.

Remaining active

In the period following withdrawal, it is important to stimulate the production of endorphins, which have been suppressed by years of opioid use. Patients are therefore encouraged to take regular physical exercise. A rich and balanced diet is also helpful, as long-term opioid use generally has a severe impact on the gastrointestinal tract.

Psychosocial aftercare

In cases where psychosocial problems led to opioid use or where opioid use has resulted in serious psychosocial problems, specialised psychological, psychiatric and social support is essential.

WHAT CAN BE TREATED WITH OPIOSTIOP?

OPIOSTOP is a purely medical procedure that treats only the physical dependency on opiates and ends the craving for opiates. The treatment cannot resolve other problems, such as psychological problems, behavioural patterns caused by the addiction or a patient’s longing for a «kick» or «flash» to solve or suppress their problems. Patients must take responsibility for these themselves. We can refer patients to a doctor from Interlaken Hospital's psychiatric services team for a consultation to obtain help and advice.

HOW OPIOSTOP WORKS

OPIOSTOP is based on the ANR procedure (Accelerated Neuroregulation) and comprises four treatment steps.

  1. The treatment aims is to flush out the opiate reserviors in the body's bone and fatty tissue by acidifying the metabolism.
     

  2. Under anaesthesia, a naltrexone blockade is used to regulate the opiate receptors,
     

  3. providing stimulation for the endorphin system, which has been suppreddes by the intake of ecternal opiates.
     

  4. The follow-up treatment consists of taking naltrexone in tablet form for a peroid of 12 to 18 months. Only then is the treatment concluded.

 

RISKS AND COMPLICATIONS

OPIOSTOP is a medical procedure conducted under general anaesthesia. The treatment complies with all current medical standards. Meticulous preparation, an intensive care infrastructure with continuous monitoring and exacting follow-up care ensure the maximum degree of safety. 

 

As is the case with any surgical intervention and anaesthesia, there is a low residual risk of problems and complications. Serious side effects are, however, extremely rare. A full medical history is important so that any relevant diseases (especially liver, heart and lung diseases, metabolic disorders, etc.), allergies or previous complications as a result of anaesthesia can be identified. 

 

The risks associated with anaesthesia are those of any routine surgical intervention, such as unexpected reactions to medications, respiratory disorders, cardiovascular reactions in the case of previous heart disease or complications caused by the insertion of the venous line. 

Psychological complications, such as depressive reactions, anxiety disorders, nightmares, etc., also very occasionally occur.

AT INTERLAKEN HOSPITAL

SINCE 2012

Dr Patricia Manndorff has been performing opiate withdrawal under anaesthesia at Interlaken Hospital since 2012. Until 2018, the treatment was offered under the name ANR (Accelerated Neuroregulation). ANR was founded by Dr A. Waismann and further refined by Dr P. Manndorff.

 

Under the name OPIOSTOP since 2019

Dr P. Manndorff has continuously refined the ANR procedure, drawing on her extensive experience as a result of the many treatments she has performed. Since 2019 she has been performing opiate withdrawal under anaesthesia under her own protected name, OPIOSTOP. Dr P. Manndorff attaches particular importance to individualised treatment, i.e. treatment that is tailored to the patient, personal one-to-one care of each patient during their time in the intensive care unit and advice before and after the withdrawal treatment.

 

Experience from over 150 treatments

The following important findings can be summarised from the more than 150 withdrawal procedures under anaesthesia conducted using the OPIOSTOP procedure at Interlaken Hospital:

  • OPIOSTOP is an effective, expedient and economical procedure for treating opiate dependency, regardless of the particular opiate the patient takes or the reason for the dependence.

  • OPIOSTOP is suitable for all forms of opiate dependency, irrespective of the psychosocial background.

  • OPIOSTOP is superior to traditional withdrawal procedures.

  • OPIOSTOP is safe. Any complications can usually be avoided, mitigated and resolved by a suitable intensive care setting.

OPIOSTOP

Spitäler fmi AG, Interlaken Hospital
Weissenaustrasse 27
3800 Unterseen

Tel. +41 33 826 26 26

opiostop@spitalfmi.ch

© 2019 OPIOSTOP / Hospitals fmi AG

«OPIOSTOP ist mehr als
nur ein Entzug»

Dr. med. Patricia Manndorff

WAS IST OPIOSTOP?

OPIOSTOP ist ein sicheres Entzugsverfahren für Opiatabhängige. Dabei spielt es keine Rolle, ob die Abhängigkeit aus einem Drogenkonsum resultiert (Drogenpatienten) oder ob sie auf dem Boden einer chronischen Schmerzerkrankung entstand (Schmerzpatienten).

 

Beschleunigtes Entzugsverfahren

Das Verfahren von OPIOSTOP basiert auf der ANR-Methode (Accelerated Neuroregulation), die von Dr. med. P. Manndorff weiterentwickelt wurde. Das Verfahren besteht aus einer individuell auf den Patienten angepassten, medikamentösen Blockade der Opioidrezeptoren im Gehirn. Diese beschleunigte Blockade löst einen akuten, sehr schweren Entzug aus. Im Gegensatz zu einem herkömmlichen Entzug wird durch die beschleunigte Blockade die Dauer des Entzugs massiv verkürzt von ca. 1–2 Wochen auf 5–6 Stunden.

 

Narkose ermöglicht verkürzten Entzug

In dieser verkürzten Entzugszeit durchleidet der Körper sämtliche Entzugssymptome – Schmerzen, Krämpfe, Unruhe, Stress. Um das körperliche Leid dabei möglichst gering zu halten und eine hohe Sicherheit zu garantieren, wird die Behandlung unter Narkose (Allgemeinanästhesie) und unter intensivmedizinischen Bedingungen durchgeführt. Die Entzugssymptome werden dadurch zum grossen Teil nicht bewusst erlebt.

 

Mehr als ein Entzug

Die Ziele des OPIOSTOP-Verfahrens sind die individuelle Teilblockade der hochregulierten Rezeptoren und die Reaktivierung des natürlichen Opioidsystems mit Endorphinen. Damit kann der Patient oder die Patientin die positiven Effekte der eigenen Endorphine wieder spüren und das «Craving», das unstillbare Verlangen nach der Droge, verschwindet. OPIOSTOP ist somit mehr als nur ein Entzug. Die Methode umfasst neben dem eigentlichen Entzug eine Neueinstellung des Nervensystems, das durch die Opiatbhängigkeit verändert wurde. 

1:1 BETREUUNG WÄHREND
DEM ENTZUG

Die Therapie findet im intensivmedizinischen Setting des Spitals Interlaken der Spitäler fmi AG statt. Jeder Entzug nach dem OPIOSTOP-Verfahren wird von Dr. med. Patricia Manndorff und ihrem Team persönlich durchgeführt und betreut. Während der gesamten Zeit auf der Intensivstation besteht eine 1:1 Betreuung durch Dr. med. P. Manndorff und die Intensiv- oder Anästhesiefachpflege. Nach der Rückverlegung auf die Normalstation werden Patienten während der gesamten Nacht durch eine Sitzwache begleitet. Lesen Sie mehr über den Therapieablauf

WAS GESCHIEHT NACH DEM ENTZUG?

Mit dem verkürzten Entzugsverfahren im Spital Interlaken ist die Therapie noch nicht abgeschlossen. Ebenso entscheidend für den Erfolg der Therapie ist die Nachbehandlung mit Naltrexon.

Nachbehandlung mit Naltrexon 

Nach dem Entzug müssen die behandelten Patienten zur Nachbehandlung Naltrexon in Tablettenform zur Aufrechterhaltung der Rezeptorblockade einnehmen. Dosierung und Dauer der Naltrexon-Behandlung erfolgen individuell, bewegen sich in der Regel aber zwischen 25 und 50 mg/Tag für die Dauer von 12 bis 18 Monaten. Es ist nicht möglich, das Naltrexon kurzfristig abzusetzen, Opioide zu konsumieren und danach das Naltrexon wieder einzunehmen. Hier ist das hundertprozentige Mitwirken der Patienten zentral.

Aktiv bleiben

Wichtig ist in der Zeit nach dem Entzug auch die Stimulation der Endorphinproduktion, die durch die jahrelange Opioideinnahme unterdrückt wurde. Die Patienten werden daher zu regelmässiger körperlicher Aktivität aufgefordert. Hilfreich ist auch eine reichhaltige und ausgewogene Ernährung, da ein jahrelanger Opioidkonsum in der Regel starke Auswirkungen auf den Magen-Darm-Trakt hat.

Psychosoziale Nachbetreuung

In den Fällen, in denen  psychosoziale Defizite zum Opioidkonsum führten oder durch den Opioidkonsum schwerere psychosoziale Defizite verursacht wurden, ist eine spezialisierte psychologische, psychiatrische und soziale Begleitung unabdingbar.

WAS KANN DURCH OPIOSTOP THERAPIERT WERDEN ?

OPIOSTOP ist ein rein medizinischer Eingriff, der einzig die körperliche Abhängigkeit vom Opiat therapiert und der Hunger nach dem Opiat beendet. Andere Probleme, wie psychische Probleme, durch die Sucht antrainierte Verhaltensmuster oder die Sehnsucht nach dem «Kick/Flash» zum vermeintlichen Lösen oder Verdrängen aller Probleme, können damit nicht behandelt werden. Dafür muss der Patient die Verantwortung übernehmen. Für Hilfestellung und Beratung können wir Patienten zu einem Gespräch bei einem Arzt der psychiatrischen Dienste im Spital Interlaken vermitteln.

DAS FUNKTIONSPRINZIP VON OPIOSTOP

Das Funktionsprinzip von OPIOSTOP basiert auf dem ANR-Verfahren (Accelerated Neuroregulation) und umfasst vier Behandlungsschritte.

  1. Durch eine Ansäuerung des Stoffwechsels wird ein Ausschwemmen der Opiatreservoire im Knochen und Fettgewebe angestrebt.
     

  2. Unter Narkose wird mittels einer Naltrexon-Blockade eine Regulation der Opiatrezeptoren durchgeführt.
     

  3. Das unter der externen Opiateinnahme unterdrückte Endorphinsystem wird wieder stimuliert.
     

  4. Durch die Einnahme von Naltrexon in Tablettenform erfolgt während 12 bis 18 Monaten eine Nachbehandlung. Erst danach ist die Behandlung abgeschlossen.

 

RISIKEN UND KOMPLIKATIONEN

OPIOSTOP ist ein medizinischer Eingriff unter Narkose. Die Behandlung genügt allen Standards der modernen Medizin. Grösstmögliche Sicherheit wird durch eine minutiöse Vorbereitung, eine intensivmedizinische Infrastruktur mit lückenlosem Monitoring und einer engmaschigen Nachbetreuung gewährleistet. 

 

Wie bei jedem operativen Eingriff und jeder Anästhesie/Narkose gibt es ein geringes Restrisiko für Probleme und Komplikationen. Schwere Nebenwirkungen sind jedoch extrem selten. Wichtig ist eine lückenlose Anamnese, um allfällige relevante Krankheiten (v.a. Leber-, Herz- und Lungenkrankheiten, Stoffwechselstörungen, etc.), Allergien oder frühere Narkosekomplikationen zu erkennen. 

 

Das Risiko im Rahmen der Narkose/Anästhesie entspricht demjenigen eines chirurgischen Routineeingriffs und betrifft z.B. unerwartete Reaktionen auf Medikamente, Atemstörungen, Herz- Kreislaufreaktionen bei Herzvorerkrankungen oder Komplikationen durch das Anlegen des venösen Zuganges. 

Selten sind auch psychische Komplikationen möglich mit depressiven Reaktionen, Angststörungen, Albträumen, etc.

SEIT 2012 AM SPITAL INTERLAKEN

Der Opiatentzug unter Narkose wird seit 2012 durch Dr. med. Patricia Manndorff am Spital Interlaken durchgeführt. Bis 2018 wurde die Behandlung unter dem Namen ANR (Accelerated Neuroregulation) angeboten. ANR wurde durch Dr. med. A. Waismann begründet und von Dr. med. P. Manndorff weiterentwickelt.

 

Seit 2019 unter dem Namen OPIOSTOP

Mit ihrer grossen Erfahrung aus zahlreichen durchgeführten Behandlungen hat Dr. med. P. Manndorff das ANR-Verfahren laufend weiterentwickelt. Seit 2019 führt sie den Opiatentzug unter Narkose unter dem eigenen und geschützten Namen OPIOSTOP durch. Besonders wichtig für Dr. P. Manndorff sind die individuelle und auf den Patienten oder die Patientin angepasste Therapie, die persönliche 1:1 Betreuung jedes Patienten während der Zeit auf der Intensivstation und die Beratung vor und nach dem Entzug.

 

Erfahrung aus über 150 Behandlungen

Folgende wichtigen Erkenntnisse lassen sich aus den über 150 Entzugsverfahren unter Narkose mittels OPIOSTOP am Spital Interlaken zusammenfassen:

  • OPIOSTOP ist ein wirksames, zweckmässiges und wirtschaftliches Verfahren zur Behandlung der Opiatabhängigkeit, unabhängig davon, welches Opiat aus welchem Grund konsumiert wurde.

  • OPIOSTOP ist geeignet für alle Formen der Opiatabhängigkeit, unabhängig davon, vor welchem psychosozialen Hintergrund sich diese abspielt.

  • OPIOSTOP ist den herkömmlichen Entzugsverfahren überlegen.

  • OPIOSTOP ist sicher. Allfällige Komplikationen lassen sich durch ein adäquates intensivmedizinisches Setting in der Regel vermeiden, auffangen und beheben.

OPIOSTOP

Spitäler fmi AG, Spital Interlaken
Weissenaustrasse 27
3800 Unterseen

Tel. +41 33 826 26 26

opiostop@spitalfmi.ch

© 2019 OPIOSTOP / Spitäler fmi AG