The OPIOSTOP treatment
process in detail

KEY DATA

 

PLACE OF TREATMENT: Hospitals fmi AG, Interlaken Hospital

 

DURATION:

The actual withdrawal at Interlaken Hospital takes about 2.5 days. You then spend another two days in a hotel in Interlaken for the post-treatment phase.  

 

PSYCHIATRIC CARE:

Some patients prefer or require in-patient psychiatric care after withdrawal instead of the hotel phase due to their medical history and accompanying illnesses. This can take be organised at Interlaken Hospital as an inpatient in the psychiatric crisis intervention centre or close to the patient's place of residence.

 

MEDICAL TREATMENT TEAM:

Dr Patricia Manndorff
Head Physician, Institute for Anaesthesia and Intensive Care Medicine, Interlaken Hospital 
FMH Specialist for Anaesthesiology, Anaesthesiological Intensive Care Medicine

 

Dr Thomas Ihde
Head Physician, Psychiatric Services, Hospitals fmi AG
FMH Psychiatry and Psychotherapy

 

CARE TEAM:

The nursing team consists exclusively of specialists with a background in anaesthesia, intensive care and ward nursing, all of whom have received training in OPIOSTOP.

Information and
medical history
Before the withdrawal

You will receive detailed information about the procedure from Dr  P. Manndorff and her team prior to the treatment, during the course of which all your outstanding questions will be addressed. All the substances you have taken will then be listed in detail in your medical history. The anaesthesia procedure will also take into account any secondary diseases, drug intolerances or allergies and potential risks. Your motivation for undergoing the treatment and any concomitant psychiatric ailments and stumbling blocks will be discussed in a psychiatric screening. Your psychosocial background, important biographical data and resources in your environment for follow-up treatment will also be taken down.

Final consultation
Day 0

On the day prior to your admission to hospital, you will have a final consultation at Interlaken Hospital with Dr Patricia Manndorff and, optionally, with the specialist general practitioner. A final health check and assessment of your suitability will be conducted prior to the procedure. If you live a long way away, you will then check into a hotel in Interlaken for the first night. Your last meal before the procedure will be at 6 p.m.

Safe withdrawal
under anaesthesia
Day 1

You will be admitted to Interlaken Hospital at 7 a.m. in a sober state. There then follows a phase which lasts until 12 noon, during which your organ systems are calmed by regular medication and prepared for the coming withdrawal.

 

At 12:00 noon you will be transferred to the intensive care unit, where the anaesthesia will be initiated. The physical withdrawal then takes place, in the form of two to three naltrexone cycles, individually dosed to you over a period of 5-6 hours. 

 

During the anaesthesia and withdrawal, your clinical condition and changes in your values are constantly monitored, observed and reassessed. The treatment is tailored to your specific requirements and continuously evaluated. While under anaesthesia, withdrawal symptoms resulting from the body's stress response (norepinephrine) are actively treated to ensure that blood pressure, heart rate and respiratory rate remain within the normal range. The treatment is very safe: Dr P. Manndorff and the qualified care specialists remain at your bedside at all times.

 

The anaesthesia is concluded at around 6 p.m. Following the procedure, you will be monitored in the intensive care unit for a further two hours, during which time you will be supervised by the intensive care or anaesthesia team.
Dr Patricia Manndorff will continuously monitor your progress during this period.


You will be transferred back to the general ward at around 8 p.m. and will be accompanied by a staff member sitting at your bedside during the night. This makes it possible for gastrointestinal symptoms or restlessness to be treated immediately. The head of the anaesthesia team and Dr Patricia Manndorff will be on call for you overnight. You will enjoy the safety that a regional medical centre offering every medical and nursing service around the clock is able to provide.

Rest and relaxation
Day 2

The second day is devoted to rest and recuperation and treating any gastrointestinal problems, which are a common occurrence. You will be able to resume drinking and eating and may engage in short strolls. From the afternoon onwards, you may receive visits from relatives or friends. Should you have any mental health problems, we will arrange consultation with one of the doctors from the psychiatric clinic.

Transfer to hotel
Day 3

You will leave the hospital around midday and, accompanied by a friend or relative, will check back into your booked hotel in Interlaken. The accompanying person is required to motivate you to engage in physical and mental activities as quickly as possible. Such activities accelerate the production of endorphins and therefore your well-being, as they make it possible for a balance between opiate and receptor to occur more quickly. The medical responsibility for further treatment now passes from Dr P. Manndorff to the specialist general practitioner. He or she will visit you during the course of the day and call you for a telephone consultation in the evening.

Remaining active
Day 4

Be as active as possible on this day. In the morning and evening you will receive a telephone call from your specialist general practitioner and you will also be visited by him or her during the course of the day.

Final visit
Day 5

In the morning you will again receive a call from your specialist general practitioner and will receive your final visit from him or her at your hotel or Interlaken Hospital at around midday. You can then head home.

Recovery at home
Days 6 - 14

Please take at least two weeks off for the treatment. You will initially feel quite weak, you will not get sufficient sleep and will feel very sensitive, as feelings, sensations, smell and taste will be experienced in a completely different way after your withdrawal. After two weeks, you will have stabilised to a sufficient degree to be able to return to work.

Follow-up care
From day 15

After your withdrawal, you will attend scheduled follow-up examinations by your general practitioner or Dr P. Manndorff. At the outset, the follow-up examinations will be at regular intervals, then every two to three months as required. The dose of naltrexone must be taken daily and will be slowly reduced from the 12th month onwards. The medication can generally be stopped 18 months after withdrawal. You must follow the instructions that your specialist general practitioner gives you regarding the use of naltrexone to the letter or you will jeopardise the success of the treatment. The treatment is only concluded when you are no longer required to take naltrexone. Naltrexone is not addictive and is used to treat the pre-existing addiction. The drug is usually supplied on a repeat prescription and may be carried within the EU without any problems if you travel abroad.

OPIOSTOP

Spitäler fmi AG, Interlaken Hospital
Weissenaustrasse 27
3800 Unterseen

Tel. +41 33 826 26 26

opiostop@spitalfmi.ch

© 2019 OPIOSTOP / Hospitals fmi AG

Der Ablauf einer OPIOSTOP-Behandlung im Detail

ECKDATEN

 

BEHANDLUNGSORT: Spitäler fmi AG, Spital Interlaken

 

DAUER:

Der eigentliche Entzug im Spital Interlaken dauert rund 2.5 Tage. Anschliessend verbringen Sie weitere zwei Tage in einem Hotel in Interlaken für die posttherapeutische Phase. 

 

PSYCHIATRISCHE BETREUUNG:
Manche Patientinnen und Patienten wünschen oder brauchen aufgrund ihrer Vorgeschichte und Begleiterkrankungen anstelle der Hotelphase eine stationäre psychiatrische Betreuung nach dem Entzug. Diese kann am Spital Interlaken im stationären Setting der psychiatrischen Krisenintervention erfolgen oder auch in der Nähe des Wohnorts.

 

ÄRZTLICHES BEHANDLUNGSTEAM:

Dr. med. Patricia Manndorff
Chefärztin Institut für Anästhesie und Intensivmedizin Spital Interlaken 
Fachärztin FMH für Anästhesiologie Anästhesiologische Intensivmedizin

 

Dr. med. Thomas Ihde
Chefarzt Psychiatrische Dienste Spitäler fmi AG
Psychiatrie und Psychotherapie FMH

 

PFLEGETEAM:

Das P­flegeteam besteht ausschliesslich durch in OPIOSTOP geschulte Fachpersonen aus der Anästhesiefachpflege, Intensivfachp­flege und Stationspflege.

Information und Anamnese
Vorher

Im Vorfeld der Behandlung erhalten Sie ausführliche Informationen über das Verfahren durch Dr. med. P. Manndorff und ihr Team. Dabei werden alle Ihre offenen Fragen geklärt. Danach werden in der Anamnese alle konsumierten Substanzen detailliert erfasst. Zudem werden allfällige Nebenerkrankungen, Medikamenten-Unverträglichkeiten oder -Allergien und potentielle Risiken durch das Anästhesieverfahren geklärt. In einem psychiatrischen Screening werden Ihre Motivation für die Behandlung und allfällige psychiatrische Begleiterkrankungen und Stolpersteine thematisiert. Erfasst werden auch Ihr psychosozialer Hintergrund, wichtige biografische Daten und Ressourcen in Ihrem Umfeld für die Nachbehandlung.

Letztes Gespräch
Tag 0

Am Vortag des stationären Eintrittes haben Sie ein letztes Gespräch im Spital Interlaken mit Dr. med Patricia Manndorff und fakultativ dem spezialisierten Hausarzt. Es erfolgt ein letzter Gesundheitscheck vor dem Eingriff und eine abschliessende Beurteilung Ihrer Eignung. Bei längerer Anreise werden Sie danach für die erste Nacht in ein Hotel in Interlaken einchecken. Die letzte Mahlzeit erfolgt um 18:00 Uhr.

Sicherer Entzug unter Narkose
Tag 1

Sie treten morgens um 07:00 Uhr nüchtern ins Spital Interlaken ein. Danach erfolgt eine Phase bis 12:00 Uhr, in der Ihre Organsysteme durch regelmässige Medikamentengaben beruhigt und auf den kommenden Entzug vorbereitet werden.

 

Um 12:00 Uhr werden Sie auf die Intensivstation verlegt und die Anästhesie wird gestartet. Danach erfolgt der körperliche Entzug mit zwei bis drei Naltrexonzyklen, individuell auf Sie dosiert über 5-6 Stunden. 

 

Während der Anästhesie und des Entzuges werden Ihr klinischer Zustand und die Veränderungen Ihrer Werte ständig monitorisiert, beobachtet und neu beurteilt. Die Behandlung wird individuell auf Sie angepasst und laufend evaluiert. Entzugssymptome als Folge der Stressantwort (Noradrenalin) des Körpers werden unter der Narkose konsequent behandelt, so dass sich der Blutdruck, die Herzfrequenz und Atemfrequenz im Normbereich befinden. Die Behandlungssicherheit ist gross: Dr. med. P. Manndorff und die diplomierten Fachpflegekräfte sind kontinuierlich am Bett.

 

Gegen 18:00 Uhr wird die Anästhesie bei Ihnen beendet. Anschliessend bleiben Sie zur Überwachung noch zwei Stunden auf der Intensivstation. Während dieser Zeit werden Sie direkt durch die Intensiv- oder Anästhesiefachpflege betreut.
Dr. med. Patricia Manndorff wird Sie kontinuierlich vor Ort überwachen.


Gegen 20:00 Uhr erfolgt Ihre Rückverlegung auf die Normalstation. Sie werden während der gesamten Nacht mit einer Sitzwache begleitet. Somit können Magen-Darmsymptome oder Unruhe unmittelbar behandelt werden. Der leitende Anästhesiefachpfleger und Dr. med. Patricia Manndorff stehen Ihnen über Nacht im Pikettdienst zur Verfügung. Die Sicherheit eines  Regionalspitalzentrums mit sämtlichen ärztlichen und pflegerischen Präsenzdiensten rund um die Uhr ist vorhanden.

Ruhe und Erholung
Tag 2

Der zweite Tag dient der Ruhe und Erholung und wird zur Behandlung der häufig auftretenden Magen-Darmproblematik benutzt. Sie werden mit dem Trinken und Essen beginnen und können kleine Spaziergänge machen. Ab dem Nachmittag können Sie wieder Besuch von Angehörigen oder Freunden empfangen. Sollten Sie Probleme im psychischen Bereich haben, kann ein Gespräch mit den Ärzten aus der Psychiatrischen Klinik für Sie vereinbart werden.

Übertritt ins Hotel
Tag 3

Sie treten gegen Mittag aus dem Spital aus und werden in Begleitung einer Person Ihres Vertrauens wieder in das gebuchte Hotel in Interlaken einchecken. Die Begleitperson ist erforderlich, um Sie möglichst unmittelbar zu körperlichen und geistigen Aktivitäten zu motivieren. Dies beschleunigt die Endorphinproduktion und damit Ihr Wohlbefinden, da die Balance zwischen Opiat und Rezeptor früher erreicht wird. Die medizinische Verantwortung für die weitere Therapie geht nun von Dr. P. Manndorff an den spezialisierten Hausarzt über. Diese wird Sie noch gleichentags besuchen und am Abend telefonisch konsultieren.

Aktiv bleiben
Tag 4

Verbringen Sie einen möglichst aktiven Tag. Am Morgen und Abend erhalten Sie eine telefonische Visite durch Ihren spezialisierten Hausarzt, tagsüber werden Sie zusätzlich von ihm visitiert.

Abschlussvisite
Tag 5

Am Morgen erhalten Sie erneut einen Anruf durch Ihren spezialisierten Hausarzt, gegen Mittag findet die Abschlussvisite im Hotel oder im Spital Interlaken statt. Anschliessend können Sie die Heimreise antreten.

Erholung Zuhause
Tag 6 - 14

Bitte nehmen Sie sich für die Therapie insgesamt mindestens zwei Wochen Auszeit. Sie werden sich am Anfang noch geschwächt fühlen, schlafen noch nicht ausreichend und zeigen eine grosse Sensibilität, da Gefühle, Empfindungen, Geruch und Geschmack nach dem Entzug völlig neu erlebt werden. Nach zwei Wochen haben Sie sich ausreichend stabilisiert, um sich Ihrem beruflichen Alltag wieder stellen zu können.

Nachbehandlung
ab Tag 15

Nach dem Entzug finden fest vereinbarte Nachuntersuchungen bei Ihrem Hausarzt oder Dr. med. P. Manndorff statt. Die Nachuntersuchungen sind zu Beginn regelmässig, später nach Bedarf alle zwei bis drei Monate. Die Naltrexondosis muss strikt täglich eingenommen werden und wird ab dem 12. Monat langsam reduziert. Üblicherweise kann die Medikation nach 18 Monaten nach dem Entzug gestoppt werden. Die Vorgaben des spezialisierten Hausarztes zu der Naltrexoneinnahme müssen Sie strikt befolgen, ansonsten gefährden Sie den Erfolg der Behandlung. Erst nach Stoppen des Naltrexons ist die Behandlung beendet. Naltrexon selbst macht nicht süchtig, sondern behandelt die vorbestehende Sucht. Das Medikament wird üblicherweise im Dauerrezept abgegeben und kann innerhalb der EU problemlos bei Auslandsreisen mitgeführt werden.

OPIOSTOP

Spitäler fmi AG, Spital Interlaken
Weissenaustrasse 27
3800 Unterseen

Tel. +41 33 826 26 26

opiostop@spitalfmi.ch

© 2019 OPIOSTOP / Spitäler fmi AG